as cryptically prefaced in my previous post, i wanted to let you know that the online book tour & blog hop for Inspired Remnants, Curious Dreams by Kerin Gale starts this Sunday, May 1st, at Keriny’s blog: http://remnantsofolde.com/posts

Kerin summed up the event perfectly on the Apoxy Clay Facebook Page so I shall quote her: There are 18 days of giveaways (with Aves [apoxy] clay, ICE resin, silicone mold material and much more!!!) and fantastic art and such. Please help spread the word on your own blogs and FB pages and twitter and skywriting if you have planes available.  : )

inspired remnants, curious dreams by kerin gale

i will add that this book has been literally the BEST mixed media art book that i have ever read, peeked at, held or looked at in my whole life.  i LOVE this book (and not at all because i’m in it)!!  i am so honored to be #2 in the blog hop (wait, maybe ‘number two’ isn’t a good thing??).  seriously though, there are heaps and loads of AMAZING give-aways on each of the participating blogs and you could win!  all you have to do is visit each of the sponsoring blogs on their date (which we all will be posting soon) and leave a comment.

inspired remnants, curious dreams by kerin gale

to kick it off, i will share a few photos of one of my very own copies of the book, and the review i wrote on amazon.

I cannot say enough good things about Kerin Gale’s “Inspired Remnants, Curious Dreams”. I am a huge purchaser of mixed media art books and this is by far my favorite (so much so that I bought two copies for myself and one for my mom).

Typically, when I purchase a new art book I flip through the pages, taking in all of the pictures, then set it on my dusty bookshelf for a potential future peek. This book, however, is totally different: one copy resides on my bookshelf and the other hasn’t left my desk since I bought it four months ago. I flipped through the pages at least a dozen times, then read it twice. Unlike most mixed media art books, Kerin’s book contains projects that I would LOVE to try. They are so innovated and unique, and just stunningly gorgeous. I want to make ALL of them! Her witty humor and understandable detailed directions are comparable to none – I am left with no questions, but rather an amazing new skill set to create fun and visually pleasing pieces; my only problem was which one to create first.

Epoxy clay has got to be one of the coolest products on the market today. Kerin teaches us how to make molds to create duplicates of things we love (like ornate textures or Frozen Charlottes), and schools us on the infinite things you can do with epoxy clay – you can safely use it on things left outside, you can use in it water (i.e. a fish tank!), you can make sturdy but delicate looking jewelry, and so many other exciting and wondrous things that you should just go buy this book right now. Among my favorite projects are the light-up pieces and a raven handbag that’s to die for!

inspired remnants, curious dreams by kerin gale

hope to see you here on the 2nd, and on kerin’s blog the day before!

oh, i like this page too:

inspired remnants, curious dreams by kerin gale

(funny circle — i meant that’s me as in “alicia caudle”, not as in “the empress alicia caudle” — if i wasn’t going to be so busy for the next few days i’d change that five minutes ago!!)

