recently i’ve found myself a bit tired of portrait paintings so i’ve been going back to my “roots” of books, nature art, abstract and assemblage. i’m loving it! it’s not that i don’t enjoy painting faces because i do… i just don’t feel the direction in was going was entirely true to myself. i originally took a class to learn faces “right” so i could do them “wrong”, better and intentionally. things were getting a little too rigid for me, so i had to step back from myself a minute.

which brings me to my newest piece, “the only way out is through”. it measures 12×12 and is on gallery wrapped canvas.

ingredients:
acrylic, ink and diamond glaze

this piece is very textural as you will see in the detail images below. you can click on them to view enlarged versions.

the-only-way-out-is-through

the-only-way-out-is-through-d1

the-only-way-out-is-through-d2

the-only-way-out-is-through-d3

the-only-way-out-is-through-d4

the title of this piece was inspired by the line “the best way out is is always through,” written by robert frost in 1914 a servant to servants.

this piece can also be found here: http://aliciacaudle.com/art/shop/the-only-way-out-is-through-alicia-caudle.php