i am one damn lazy blogger!  after all these years this is only my 200th post!?  that astounds me.  i would have guessed at least 350.  hah.  but it is what it is… if i wasn’t so sleepy and side-tracked by my still-wet paint pallet i would do the math (i love math) to see what my average is.  meh.

recently, i was commissioned to do nude portrait but something quite unanticipated emerged, which i felt i must keep.  it’s the fault of these wonderful 20 minute paintings mentioned in my previous post.  if you paint and you haven’t tried it yet, please try it!  or do a 20 minute collage.  or a 20 minute assemblage (i’m not sure even i could do that, but still — timing yourself and forcing yourself not to touch it after your time is up is kind of spiritual in a way… and shitty in others, but humbling and fun and free).  i pseudo-timed myself on this one (after spending 4+ hours on many backgrounds and underpaintings.

meet “myselves”…

myselves
acrylic, collage, graphite, ink and white gel
8×10 on canvas

myselves-alicia-caudle

it doesn’t look like me and is muddy, but i felt really drawn to her for some reason (more from how it makes me feel than from how it looks).  so, she’s mine.  i think i want to paint over that eye now, looking at it here. but enough of that.

sooo…. i’m having a post memorial day sale starting this very moment, through friday.  $25 off select paintings.  PLUS, anyone who buys a painting will be automatically entered into a drawing for a free 20 minute painting from me.  you can pick male or female, nude or not nude.  i hope you don’t pick a nude male — i’ve never tried one before.  but i will if you do!  see my sale paintings here: http://alteredbits.com/alicia-caudle-art.php  i’ve never put my art on sale, but shameless admission: i’m nearly out of paint and canvases and need some art supply funds.  is that bad to admit?  well, even if it is, i just did.

here are a couple/few of the paintings up for sale (these were NOT done in 20 minutes):

mixed media painting by alicia caudle

mixed media painting by alicia caudle

mixed media painting by alicia caudle

after i posted the second to the last one (the noseless gal with blacked out eyes), i got a commission to do a custom rendition of her in 30×30″.  this is going to be fun!  and my largest painting ever.

happy memorial day to all!

